Colorado Concealed Carry Permit

 

Colorado Concealed Carry Permit

Colorado Concealed Carry Permit Training

The Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit Class Level I is a four hour comprehensive class on handgun safety, handgun actions, ammunition, and Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit Laws. The class is designed for all levels of shooters for their concealed carry permit training. Our class includes discussion on the laws for concealed carry and the use of deadly force. This class stresses the responsibilities of the concealed carry permit holder, safe pistol techniques, and different methods of carrying. Completion of this class will give the student a completion certificate necessary when applying for a Colorado Concealed Carry Permit. You will know the safe handling, loading, and unloading of revolvers and semi-automatic pistols before class is finished.

You do not need to buy a gun for class, you will be taught how to pick a gun. Colorado Law does not require live-fire shooting for a permit, but we think it is important. This class also includes one hour of live fire training with an Instructor that is a Double Distinguished Expert in Semi-Auto Pistol and Defensive Pistol 1 with the NRA at no additional charge, many times scheduled on a different day. Many people like to practice the skills they have learned in class, or purchase a handgun before the live fire session. This is a fun way to learn an important skill, the format and content of this class make it like no other offered in this area.

Don’t be fooled by classes that do not give you the information you need to keep yourself and your family safe and out of trouble. This class provides information that other instructors are not teaching. Rick Sindeband has a substantial background in firearms and has hundreds of hours of training in many areas.  Don’t risk your freedom or your life on inferior training.

Why Train With Rick

Concealed Carry Sign Up

Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit Class Level I

is a fun class and everyone from the beginner to the advanced shooter will enjoy the format of this class.

See what students say about our class

Sign up for class and let us know when you want to take it. Our schedule is flexible.

Level I Class meets all the requirements for a Concealed Handgun Permit in Colorado.

Our class teaches you the easy way to apply for your permit.

Instructions for The Colorado Handgun Permit

1  Take a training course in firearms.   Our course qualifies you for this permit.  C.R.S. § 18-12-202 states that online courses do not qualify.

2  Fill out the application form from your county sheriff’s department but do not sign it. You can download it and an information packet at   Pueblo County Sheriff Website Take it back to the county sheriff’s department when you go for your appointment and sign it before the sheriff.

3  Submit the fees. The permit fee is determined by statute the sheriff and the CBI have maximums they can charge. It includes a background check, fingerprints, and photograph. In Pueblo County, the cost is ($152.50) for the first five years. Renewals are ($63)

4  Provide your training certificate, which you will receive from us the day of class. The sheriff’s department will take your photograph and fingerprints when you submit your application.

5  Show a valid Colorado driver’s license or military ID. You will also need to pass a criminal background check. Your permit will be good for five years. A renewal fee is charged after that period.

Receive a temporary emergency permit if your life is in immediate danger. An emergency permit is good for 90 days. Applicants are responsible for the permit fee and the fingerprint fee.

Look at all the Happy People that took my class 

Recommended reading for anyone who is serious about learning gun laws

 

Apr 292018
 

Colorado Concealed Carry Without a Permit

Colorado Concealed Carry Without A Permit has limitations

There are 5 exceptions to the Colorado Concealed Carry Law let’s look at the situations where they apply.

 

 

Colorado Concealed Carry Without A Permit can be done in 5 instances they are Home, Auto, Business, Land, and Hunting. Let’s look at some of the provisions of these exceptions.

First, what is a Concealed Weapon

1. What is a concealed weapon?
The definition of “concealed”
A weapon is concealed on your person if it is placed out of sight so as not to be discernible or apparent by ordinary observation.

If the weapon is only partially concealed – for instance, by a holster — it is not concealed. As long as a casual observer would recognize it as a weapon, you have not violated the law against carrying a concealed weapon.

Home

C.R.S. § 18-12-105(2)(a) It shall not be an offense if the defendant was:
(a) A person in his or her own dwelling.
We all should know that we can carry a concealed handgun at home without a permit.

Auto

C.R.S. § 18-12-105(2)(b)
A person in a private automobile or other private means of conveyance who carries a weapon for lawful protection of such person’s or another’s person or property while traveling.

Colorado allows us to have a handgun loaded in our vehicle and it can be hidden anywhere even without a permit.
A firearm should never be visible to another person outside a vehicle both for safety and security. In a traffic stop by a police officer having a gun visible can be a bad thing. Handguns in automobiles should be holstered or cased for safety reasons. When stopped by law enforcement you should always declare your firearm, that keeps you and the officer safe. Remember long guns (rifles and shotguns) cannot be loaded in your vehicle. Possession Of A Loaded Firearm In A Motor Vehicle  C.R.S.§ 33-6-125

Business

C.R.S. § 18-12-105(2)(a)      It shall not be an offense if the defendant was:
A person in his or her own dwelling or place of business.

In Colorado, an employer can determine who (if anyone) among its employees may carry a firearm in the workplace. C.R.S. § 18-12-214 restricts where a person holding a concealed carry permit may take her gun. The statute reserves the right of a private property owner, private tenant, private employer, or private business entity to exclude weapons from their premises. This law includes the right to prohibit the possession of a firearm in a locked vehicle in the company’s parking lot.

Land

C.R.S. § 18-12-105(2)(a) It shall not be an offense if the defendant was:
A person in his or her own dwelling or place of business or on property owned or under his or her control at the time of the act of carrying.

Hunting

Yes. C.R.S. 18-12-204(3)(a)(ii) states that any person lawfully able to possess a handgun may carry that handgun while engaged in the act of hunting without obtaining a permit for the handgun. When you are actively engaged in the act of hunting and desire to carry a handgun, Colorado Concealed Carry statutes allow you to do so. Carry, in the context of the statute, applies to the carrying of the handgun and explicitly states that the handgun shall not be considered concealed. However, the sidearm may not be used to take any animals unless it meets the requirements specified for that hunting season.

You can carry without a permit

So as you can see there are many circumstances where you can carry a concealed firearm without a permit in Colorado. Beware that many law enforcement officers do not know these laws and you can find yourself being charged even though you may be right. In situations where a dispute with law enforcement has occurred, be polite and professional. If you get charged with a violation of the law you can handle it after the fact. If you are a member of one of the organizations like U.S. Law Shield or the USCCA you can get one of their attorneys to handle it for you. If you would like more information on these coverages you can contact me and I will provide it to you.

The best solution is to get a Colorado Concealed Carry Permit by taking one of my classes. Sign up today and get the training you need on a schedule that works for you.

Articles you may be interested in:

Buying A Defensive Handgun

Learn To Shoot Pueblo Colorado

Concealed Carry Permit Renewal Pueblo Colorado

The materials available in this article and at http://havegunwilltraincolorado.com are for informational and educational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact an attorney who is well versed in gun law to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Website or any of the links contained within the site do not create any legal advice. The material discussed is only educational information.

Recommended reading for anyone who is serious about learning gun laws

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail
Feb 262018
 

new shooter 500Get as much training as you desire. Our new 3 Level Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit Training Program lets you build your training and skill over time. Each module is attainable in approximately 4 hour blocks. Take the Level I class no matter what your skill level is now. This gives you a good foundation for advanced training later.

Get the training you need to apply for your Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit. This permit allows you to carry a Concealed Handgun in Colorado and 33 additional states.

A firearm is not required to take Level 1, but if you own a firearm you should bring it to class. Many people want to learn about handguns and how to pick the right one for self defense. A firearm that is a gift or a hand-me-down may or may not be the right one for you. Level 1 instruction is not an NRA program. The NRA does not want Instructors teaching Gun Laws in their classes, and this is an important part of your Concealed Handgun Permit Training.

Level I is all that is needed to obtain a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit

Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit
Level I 

Streamline the process of obtaining your permit
Firearms safety
Colorado Gun Laws and Elements of Self Defense
Safe handling of both Revolvers and Semi-Auto Pistols
Picking a firearm
Ammunition and Ballistics
Holsters and Equipment

Level1

Sign Up For Level I

This class is approximately 4 hours of training.
$65

Level I Concealed Handgun Permit Training includes live fire and may not happen on the same day
as class. Colorado does not require live fire for a permit, but we think it is a good idea for
everyone to attend a live fire session. Some people like to attend live fire after the purchase
of their firearm.

This class is designed for the new gun owner, the experienced user, or anyone who needs basic
firearms education to be safe and obtain a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit.

You can continue your education leading to the NRA Defensive Pistol Certification by taking both
Level II and Level III
——————————————————————————————————————
Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit
Level II

Gun Owners Responsibility
Ethical Responsibility
Concealed Carry and Safe Gun Handling
Principals of Concealment
Presentation From Holster
Mental Awareness and Preparation
Shooting Qualification

Level2

Sign Up For Level II

 

This class is approximately 4 hours of training. Level I or equivalent is required to attend
you will need….
Gun, 100 Rounds factory ammo, Proper Holster and Belt, Eye and Hearing Protection
$75

 

—————————————————————————————————————–
Colorado Concealed Handgun permit
Level III

Techniques for Avoiding Life Threatening Confrontations
Psychological and physiological Changes
Flash Sight Picture
Cover and Concealment
Reloading Under Stress
Clearing Common Stoppages
Shooting From Concealment
Shooting Qualification

Level3

Sign Up for Level III

This class is approximately 4 hours of training. Level 1 or equivalent is required to attend.
Level II and Level III must be completed to be Certified in The NRA Defensive Pistol Program.
you will need….
Gun,100 Rounds Factory Ammo, Proper Holster and Belt, Eye and Hearing Protection
$75

 

—————————————————————————————————————–

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail
Jul 202015
 

I had an interesting weekend in Victor, Colorado and saw some things that I thought I would discuss with the Concealed Carry Permit flock. Some Concealed Carry Holders are choosing to carry pocket guns and while this is personal choice, I am seeing more and more people do it unsafely. One person I recently met pulled the concealed carry firearm out of his pocket with his fingers in front of the muzzle, and when I asked him about it his response was its a long trigger pull it can’t go off!! (See the video I posted on Facebook) I then questioned him about his pocket holster because I am curios about such things and he responded I don’t need a holster it’s this only thing in my pocket. Well he got part of it right. First of all most of you who know me know that Im not a fan of little concealed carry guns. Yea I know the only gun that counts is the one you have with you when you need it. I think with a little training and wardrobe management a person can carry a reasonable size gun in a decent caliber and be comfortable and safe. With that being said a few things we should all remember about pocket carry for concealed carry. Remember if using as a backup gun ,some states do not allow a second gun to be carried.

1) Use a holster

a. Cover the trigger guard, reducing the chance of a negligent discharge

b. Protect the gun against lint and dirt, pocket carry guns need cleaning and maintenance more often

c. Protect the pocket against the gun’s sharp edges and oil

d. Keep the gun positioned correctly in the pocket, an upside down gun is dangerous and unacessable

e. Prevents the gun from falling out of the pocket during vigorous activity

f. Allows a simple and rapid draw, with some provision to keep the holster in the pocket when the gun is drawn

2) NOTHING should go in the pocket that holds the gun except the gun and the holster.

Pocket concealed carry need not be limited to a small, subcaliber handgun in the side or back pocket of slacks. Various pants, jackets and even some shirts provide many possibilities for effective pocket carry of small, medium and large concealed carry handguns.

Pocket carry has several major advantages:

Comfort,Convenience,Concealment,Retention,

Safety in holstering (take the holster out of the pocket face in a safe direction while holstering the firearm and then replace it in your pocket.

Pre-staging the draw, This is one of the biggest advantages of pocket carry compared to other concealed carry methods.

If trouble may be brewing, the aware concealed carry permit holder may place his or her hand on the gun in a firing grip. A practiced individual should be able to draw and make hits out to seven yards. Be careful where you practice this, it is against the rules at one of our favorite ranges.

In all cases, the handgun in question must be:

Reliable and durable under extreme circumstances, Simple and intuitive to operate, Quick to grip and draw, Well fit to your hand and naturally pointable, Shootable and controllable enough for you to keep multiple rounds on target at cyclic speed (as fast as you can pull the trigger) at close range, with one hand, Powerful enough to consistently penetrate a big guy’s vital organs through commonly worn clothing from all angles with expanding bullets.

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit

 Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit  Comments Off on Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit
Jul 112014
 
Facebook Gun Training Signup
  •   Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit
      Law and Legal Seminar
Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail