Use of Force and Colorado Law
I’m seeing a big surge in concealed carry training because I think people are finally realizing that they may not have gotten the Use of Force training they needed to safely carry a concealed handgun when they first got their permits. If you have gone more than 5 years without some concealed carry training you are kidding yourself. I am teaching material I have learned in the last year. Being an instructor is a commitment to training and being a student forever. Part-time instructors, gun show classes, hotel classes, and a class at the church may or may not have given you what you need to stay out of trouble and survive a use of force encounter.
Let’s face it the chances of you using your gun in self-defense are slim and none. Thank god Self Defense shootings are rare. Most shootings that you hear about are gang-related or involve the police or some criminal activity. The chances that you will injure yourself or someone else administratively mishandling your own gun is really high. Transporting your gun, loading and unloading that self-defense ammo because it’s expensive and you don’t want to waste it at the range. Cleaning your gun, and the big one drawing from the holster and then re-holstering and carrying a gun either improperly or in the wrong holster. These are all activities where accidents happen and the proper concealed carry renewal training would help.
Concealed Carry Use of Force Update is Important
Next, the level of understanding of the allowed use of deadly force amazes me. I had a conversation with a couple in a class the other day. I was floored at the level of misinformation most concealed carry holders actually have. People believe they can do all kinds of things with their guns in and out of their homes that are not proper or legal.
Do You Know Colorado Law
Then there are the state gun laws in Colorado. I teach Colorado is a lawless state. What I mean by that is that we have fewer laws and restrictions than most states do.
But there are places now in Colorado that have preempted Colorado State law and made up their own regulations. Guess what, you have to follow them and ignorance is not an excuse. Yes, there are lawsuits filed on these laws. These lawsuits will take years to figure out and meanwhile, you are subject to these rules. I remember a time when the rules were the same everywhere in Colorado that made you confident about having a gun and knowing what was right and wrong throughout the state.
Do You Know the Law
On top of all that traveling out of the state of Colorado with a gun in your car has gotten trickier than ever. Do you carry insurance for this you should if you don’t? Do these things sound important to you? Important enough to get someone to tell you the real scoop. Use of Force and Colorado Law can help.
I’m not sure I want to rely on a class I had in the basement of some organization taught by a guy who’s been a firearms instructor for 3 months. You are risking your freedom, your finances, and your life. When you don’t get the concealed carry training and information you need to carry a concealed handgun safely in Colorado. Think about it. Are laws being passed or ignored all over this country? What about Immigration, what about Marijuana. Are laws and regulations being passed everywhere that someone says are illegal or not valid under the constitution either by the state or federal governments.
Colorado Concealed Carry Training
And last but probably the most important. Can you hit the target with your chosen handgun at what most consider to be Self Defense distances? Will you safely access your gun and put shots on target under stress? Can you draw your handgun sitting down? Have you practiced shooting your gun at contact distances? Have you tried to practice pulling your firearm while in your car? Most self-defense incidents happen at close distance. These events are over in a very few seconds with very few shots being fired. And usually happen frequently in and around automobiles or in the dark.
Colorado Concealed Carry Training is easy to get it just takes approximately 2.5 hours and can be done on your schedule. Don’t listen to your friends at the coffee shop about when you can shoot someone it’s not their savings or freedom that’s at risk. Get scheduled for Use of Force and Colorado Law Training today.