Sep 172017
 

Why Get A Concealed Handgun Permit For Pueblo County

Carrying a concealed handgun is a great responsibility, and there are plenty of reasons why someone would not want to carry one. Here are some of the great reasons one would want to get a concealed handgun permit for Pueblo County.

#1 Guns are a Colorado Tradition

Colorado FlagGenerations of Colorado families have grown up with firearms. I shot guns with my dad when I was young and it served several purposes you gained responsibility and respect for the firearms and the outdoors. We shot our firearms for both sport and hunting. Colorado is well known for its great outdoor activities. The Colorado State Constitution is broader than the US Constitution when it comes to guns and gun ownership.
#2 It’s Your Right as a Citizen of the United States

2nd AmmendmentYou know the 2nd amendment! The amendment they always want to argue about. The meaning of the 2nd amendment is as plain as can be. Our right to own and shoot guns should not be infringed. It’s a right just like all the others so take part in your constitutional right and own a handgun for sport or protection or maybe both. Just remember to get a good firearms safety class and I’m not talking about hunters safety class. I’m talking about a firearms safety class taught by an NRA Certified Instructor.

 

#3 The World is a Bad Place

u.s.virtual training centerThe world is becoming a bad place. I don’t believe we will be able to stop that. But you can somewhat control what goes on around you and your family. Get a handgun permit for Pueblo county and learn to use and handle your gun responsibly. That handgun permit is good in all of the counties in Colorado and its good in 33 states if you decide to travel with your gun.
#4 To Protect Your Family

I think everyone that is capable of handling a gun should consider it. If for no other reason at least for family protection. We have all read about home invasions and terrible crimes that happen in peoples homes. Learn to use your firearm in those situations and be familiar with the laws of the State of Colorado about when you can use a handgun or firearm for self-defense. I can help you to understand these laws and regulations with one of my classes. Discussions in class include use of deadly force and the Make My Day Law which covers you in your home in Colorado.

#5 To Protect Yourself

Protection of self is a right we all have. It’s a natural right. Self-defense (self-defense in many varieties of English) is a countermeasure that involves defending the health and well-being of oneself from harm. The use of the right of self-defense as a legal justification for the use of force in times of danger is available in many jurisdictions, but the interpretation varies widely. You must learn when you are allowed to protect yourself in Colorado. It is easy to learn in a structured class that covers this and firearms safety.

#6 Concealed handguns are proven to deter crime

States like Colorado that implemented “shall-issue” concealed carry laws reduced murders by 8.5 percent, rapes by 5 percent, aggravated assaults by 7 percent, and robbery by 3 percent, according to an analysis of FBI crime data by economist and political commentator John R. Lott Jr., Ph.D. Conversely, states with more restrictive concealed-carry laws have gun-related murder rates that are 10 percent higher, according to a 2013 study in Applied Economic Letters.

#7 You’ll learn a lot about gun safety and self-defense

Firearm Safety TrainingYou’ll have to go through some training and/or classes in order to apply for your permit. I teach this class several times per week and any questions or hesitations you ever had about guns or gun safety will be answered. You’ll also learn the ins and outs of self-defense. You’ll also learn all about the gun laws of your state. Those around you will also be able to rest assured knowing you have passed the requirements to prove you know how to handle a firearm responsibly.
Classes are available thru out the week. I normally do not hold classes on Thursdays or Fridays. Contact me for availability by phone (719.821.3958), or sign up with your information on my class sign-up form and in the comments tell me what you would like to do.

Why Train With Rick

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail
Sep 152017
 

Concealed Carry Restrictions

The License is for Concealed Carry

There are some confusing signs in the Pueblo area that restrict your right to carry a concealed weapon. Some of the signs are on public or county properties and they are very visible. The first one that we have all seen says The Open Carrying of Firearms Or Deadly Weapons Within This Building Is Prohibited”   this sign is straightforward. You can not carry a gun that is exposed (open carry) like the cowboys did in the old days in this building. Concealed Carry is fine but it has to be concealed. The Confusing part of this sign is when it shows up somewhere that you can’t carry at all, like the 10th judicial court building where they have metal detectors and sheriff officers guarding the entrance.

Concealed Carry is allowed not open carryConcealed Carry Sign Pueblo West Library

The next one is a little tricky and people have told me that is says something different than it actually does. “Bringing in concealed weapons that are not legally licensed and permitted, or openly displaying a weapon except by law enforcement officials is prohibited”  this sign has two parts separated by a comma. The first part says you can’t bring a concealed weapon in unless it is licensed or permitted. The second part says no open carry except by law enforcement. These type of  Concealed Carry restrictions or notices are common. The problem ensues when a person doesn’t read the entire sign and really dissect what the meaning or intent is from the sign.

Remember it is your responsibility as a licensed concealed carry individual to know and understand all the restricted areas that you encounter in your normal travels around town,  restrictions apply but are not limited to, the Jail, Post Office, Court, Schools, Airports,Public Transportation(Bus),Colorado State Fair Grounds, and any place that has a metal detector or a sign posted with some restrictions.

Pueblo City Ordinance 11-1-601

 

The Pueblo City Ordinance  11-1-601 is very clear on the subject. It defines all the things you should not do and then tells you what you can do. Things like knife blade lengths and stun guns are discussed. If you live in the Pueblo area you should read this ordinance so that you are informed.

Restricted Concealed Carry Pueblo Colorado

Pueblo City Ord 11-1-601

 

 

Bank signs vary from location to location. One of the things that always comes up is the fact that no gun signs in Colorado have no force of law. What that means is that Colorado, unlike some other states, has some very weak language in their sign law.  So it has been said that in these locations all that can happen to you if caught with a firearm is to be asked to leave. If you refused you may be able to be charged with trespassing.  Timothy J. Priebe, Esq. an attorney in Colorado has written a paper called Should I Stay Or Should I Go where he discusses this issue. You should read and understand this document.

Bank Sign TexasThis sign is on one of the local banks in downtown Pueblo, Colorado it is totally bogus. This sign is the Texas Law 30-06 and these laws do not exist in Colorado. This bank just thinks most people will follow whatever sign they post or that gun owners are sheep.

 

As always none of this is legal advice. I advocate being informed and follow the law. To follow the law you must understand the difference between coffee table chat and knowledge. My class has new information in it all the time. If you are a concealed carry permit holder and you are up for renewal you would be wise to get some updated information so that you can make good decisions for you and your family.

This is a great reference book that everyone should have in their library.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail
Apr 262015
 

uslawshield300U.S. Law Shield now covers any legal weapon not just firearms. The coverage states any legal weapon in a place that you can legally be. This means even your barehands, pepper spray, or a legal knife. This is great coverage for anyone interested in keeping themselves protected against an unexpected lawsuit either criminal or civil .

In many of my classes I talk about the importance of knowing when you can and can’t use deadly force. The attorney’s from U.S.Law Shield discuss this situation in many of the classes they hold. A person may use deadly force if a lesser degree of force is inadequate. A person does not have to retreat before using force regardless of whether they are in a place they have a right to be. All that is required is that a person is facing an imminent threat, they did not provoke unlawful use of force, they were not the initial aggressor.

 

us law shield banner new2

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail
Nov 102013
 

Colorado Concealed Carry

Right now  in our community and all over the nation there seems to be an increase in violent activity especially in the home. You and your family’s safety are at risk more now than ever before.  Many states have what is known as a castle doctrine, basically the right to protect your castle. In Colorado they call it the Make My Day Law. You have the right to protect yourself and your family from harm, and in that law you are given special protection from criminal and civil liability.  Please take the time to understand how to protect your family and have a plan of action so that your entire family knows what to do when the proverbial  S#!T hits the fan.

 

Rule #1…….don’t answer the door in the middle of the night….
Are you kidding me… I should not even have to say this.  People coming to your house late at night should call in advance and let someone know they are coming.

Rule #2…… the statute says uninvited entry….
Don’t help them out by letting them in.

Rule #3…..don’t ever go outside with a gun …..
Your protected under the statute in your home not on your front lawn or in your backyard

Rule#4….your garage is part of your home…….
If your garage is attached to your home it is part of your home. Let the Police handle that guy who is out in your garage. Remember if you confront someone and they decide not to comply with your commands you may have to shoot them.

Rule #5….shooting someone is always ugly…….
Remember that shooting someone always comes with consequences. Loss of employment, Loss of friends, time from work, loss of money from legal defense, and dealing with that fact that you had to do this to another human being.

Concealed Carry Training

You can learn all about protecting your family in and out of your home by taking my Colorado Concealed Carry Class. Many people take the concealed carry class and get the gun training and safety information and then may not apply for a concealed carry permit. Contact me for a free assessment of what training would be good for you. Concealed Carry is not for everybody, but everyone needs to know the laws about guns and when and where you are allowed to protect yourself.

Concealed Carry Class

Concealed Carry class is easy and fun. The format is great for all ages. People with no experience have a great time and enjoy it alot.

Concealed Carry may not be for everyone

Colorado Concealed Carry Class is so much more than just concealed carry. Contact me and we can discuss your training needs.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail
May 192013
 

Guns for Sale

Guns For Sale in Colorado July 1, 2013

Normally I try to keep my articles to training issues, but I think it’s a good time to talk about upcoming events. As of July 1, you will not be able to sell any firearm legally in Colorado without background checks being done. So now is the time to sell those unwanted firearms before you have to go through the paperwork and expense of the transaction. You say what..#2@..you are not going to do a background check when you sell your gun!! Well you better read further. There are some problems with selling a gun without a background check, like what if the gun is used in a crime? Can it come back to haunt you? If you decide to sell a firearm and you wish to document the transaction here is a nice bill of sale form you can use.

Guns For Sale After July 1, 2013

Many people are saying that as long as the date of the transaction is prior to July 1, 2013, it won’t be a problem and that is possibly true as long as you have owned the guns for sale a long time and parties to the transaction do not cause any problems. Anyone who purchases a gun from a dealer or involving a background check after July 1, 2013, will be attached to that gun forever unless it is transferred properly to someone with a background check. These are just a few things to think about in the upcoming new legislation that will effect guns for sale on July 1st in Colorado.

These transfer provisions do not apply to:

  • A bona fide gift or loan between immediate family members;
  • A transfer that occurs by operation of law or because of the death of a person for whom the prospective transferor is an executor or administrator of an estate or a trustee of a trust created in a will;
  • A transfer that is temporary and occurs while in the home of the unlicensed transferee if:
    • The unlicensed transferee is not prohibited from possessing firearms; and
    • The unlicensed transferee reasonably believes that possession of the firearm is necessary to prevent imminent death or serious bodily injury to the unlicensed transferee;
  • A temporary transfer of possession without power of ownership or a title to ownership, which takes place:
    • At a shooting range located in or on premises owned by a duly incorporated organization organized for conservation purposes or to foster proficiency in firearms;
    • At a target firearm shooting competition under the auspices of, or approved by, a state agency or a nonprofit organization; or
    • While hunting, fishing, target shooting, or trapping if:
      • Legal in all places where the unlicensed transferee possesses the firearm; and
      • The unlicensed transferee holds any license or permit that is required for such activity;
  • A transfer of a firearm that is made to facilitate the repair or maintenance of the firearm, except that all parties who possess the firearm as part of such transaction must be able to legally possess a firearm;
  • Any temporary transfer that occurs while in the continuous presence of the owner of the firearm;
  • A temporary transfer for not more than 72 hours. A person who makes such a temporary transfer may be jointly and severally liable for damages proximately caused by the transferee’s subsequent unlawful use of the firearm; or
  • A member of the armed services who will be deployed outside of the U.S. in the next 30 days, to any immediate family member.7

When a person violates the above transfer requirements, the violation is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor and the person must be prohibited from possessing a firearm for two years, beginning on the date of his or her conviction.

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail
Dec 122012
 
Concealed Carry With PermitBack in July, I published a story Restricted Concealed Carry Pueblo Colorado and in that article I stated that Concealed Carry was restricted on public transportation, specifically bus transportation.

Gary from handgunlaw.us recently asked me:

Rick, I am the Co-Owner of www.handgunlaw.us and Reading your site you posted back on Jul 18 about concealed carry and No Open Carry Signs. You stated the places that those with a permit/license to carry can not carry and you stated Public Transportation (Bus). I can’t find this in state law or the Admin Rules. Can you tell me where this is in CO Law/Regs as I don’t have that listed as a place off limits for Colorado. Any assistance you can give Handgunlaw.us in this matter would be greatly appreciated. Stay safe, Gary Slider

I started to look through outlines from all the education courses I attended, but was unable to locate any citations as to where one might find this information. I looked through the Colorado Revised Statutes and could not find the spot where concealed carry on public transportation was discussed. Today I called the RTD Regional Transportation District in Denver and asked the question of the customer service rep named Mark who took my call. I explained what I wanted to know and we looked together through website information to no avail. Mark then took all my information and said someone would get back to me. About an hour later I received a phone call from a Detective and a Captain with the RTD, and they proceeded to tell me exactly what I wanted to know. The statute is listed below and the key to the whole cite is “without legal authority”. As Concealed Carry Permit holders, we have legal authority as granted with our Concealed Carry Permits. I will be checking with several other cities, including Colorado Springs and Pueblo, to see if there are any notices posted on the transportation in those jurisdictions.

Concealed Carry Rules and Regulations

Remember that I teach information that I believe to be factual, and if anything, I lean on the cautious side. I have always stated to all my students that we can all learn, none of us know everything, but it is always ultimately your responsibility to check for yourself.

Concealed Carry information can hide in places like this…

C.R.S. 18-9-118
COLORADO REVISED STATUTES
*** This document reflects changes current through all laws passed
at the Second Regular and First Extraordinary Sessions
of the Sixty-Eighth General Assembly of the State of Colorado 2012
and Constitutional and Statutory amendments approved at the General Election on November 6, 2012 ***
TITLE 18. CRIMINAL CODE
ARTICLE 9. OFFENSES AGAINST PUBLIC PEACE, ORDER, AND DECENCY
PART 1. PUBLIC PEACE AND ORDER
C.R.S. 18-9-118 (2012)
18-9-118. Firearms, explosives, or incendiary devices in facilities of public transportation A person commits a class 6 felony if, without legal authority, he has any loaded firearm or explosive or incendiary device, as defined in section 9-7-103, C.R.S., in his possession in, or carries, brings, or causes to be carried or brought any of such items into, any facility of public transportation, as defined in section 18-9-115 (4).HISTORY: Source:. L. 77: Entire section added, p. 976, § 7, effective June 29.L. 89: Entire section amended, p. 841, § 89, effective July 1.C.R.S. 18-9-118
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail